Currie Chieftains 50th Anniversary

Join the celebrations in marking the momentous 50th Anniversary of the Currie Chieftains.

It’s nearly 50 years since Currie RFC was conceived by 6 great men in 1970 at the Weavers Knowe pub. The Club invites you to celebrate this milestone with a series of special events throughout the 2020/21 season. Celebrations will be accompanied by the publication of a book documenting the Club’s rich 50-year history.

Celebrations will kick off with a BBQ organised by the Youth section of the Club in June 2020.

In the early part of 2020/21 season the club will be having big weekend starting on Friday 11th September when the Clubhouse will be open for an informal get together.  There will be a home league match on Saturday 12th September followed by a dinner at the Corn Exchange, Edinburgh, which promises to be a wonderful evening, reminiscing on the previous 50 years of the club. It will be an evening for all members, past players, supporters and friends. This is an occasion not to be missed – put it in the diary.

The season’s celebrations will culminate with a Grand Ball at the Dalmahoy Hotel & Country Club on the 1st May 2021.  A fantastic way to celebrate how far the club has come in a relatively short time, by doing it ‘The Currie Way’.

Currie Chieftains will be delighted for as many as possible to join in marking these remarkable achievements and rekindling old friendships.

Tickets are limited, get in touch with the Club to make sure you don’t miss out on these events.  Details will follow soon.

Contributions to the 50th Anniversary book are welcomed by Andy Bogle and Ivor Santer.

To help raise funds towards the anniversary celebrations, join the 50 Club this summer, where there will be monthly winners and cash prizes up for grabs. Support for any of the anniversary events would be gratefully received.

Look out for lots of other smaller events by checking social media and the club website for more details, as they become available.

The club will be delighted to see you.


John T Muir

Chair of the Anniversary Committee